Text-Only Site



SACRAMENTO, Calif. — The Sacramento State women's golf team will continue its season at the Cle Elum Regional of the 2019 NCAA Div. I Women's Golf Championship, it was announced today. The tournament, which will be hosted by Washington, will take place on May 6-8 at Tumble Creek Golf Club.

The top six teams and three individuals from the regional will advance to the NCAA Championships which will be held at Blessing Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark, on May 16-22. The Cle Elum Regional field is headlined by two teams ranked among the top 10 in the country in the most recent Golfweek rankings. Heading the list is USC which is the top ranked team in the country. Arkansas, which is ranked sixth nationally, was awared the two seed in the regional. The Razorbacks will be hoping to advance to the NCAA Championships which will be held on their home course.

"I'm glad they decided to keep us in the west," Sacramento State head coach David Sutherland said. "It's great to stay in our time zone and face a lot of teams we are familiar with. It's a mountain golf course and those are conditions that we have played in."

The Hornets are familiar with several of the 18 teams in the field, having faced five during the 2019-19 season which saw the team play in touraments throughout the country.

"This is why we played the schedule that we did," Sutherland said. "There were times I questioned if I was pushing them too hard but it really helped us at conference and we will be prepared for the regional."

Sacramento State earned a berth in the tournament after winning the Big Sky Conference Championship in convincing fashion last weekend in Boulder City, Nev. The Hornets led following every round and finished the tournament 20 strokes ahead of the closest team. Sophomore Corinne Viden tied for the lowest individual score and she was joined in the top 10 by Julia Becker who tied for fifth place with the help of a school-record 66 in the final round.

The tournament victory for the Hornets was their second of the spring as the team took the top spot at the Gunrock Invitational at Del Paso Country Club in March. All five members of the Hornet starting lineup earned all-Big Sky honors during the year. Viden and Becker were named to the first team, Sofie Babic and Nishtha Madan earned second team honors and Sydney Smith was honorable mention.

Sacramento State will be making its third NCAA Div. I postseason appearance. The Hornets advanced to the NCAA West Regional in St. George, Utah in 2007 and played in Albuquerque, N.M., in 2017.

The field for all four NCAA regionals are listed below:

Cle Elum Regional Norman Regional Auburn Regional East Lansing Regional
1. USC 1. Texas 1. Duke 1. Stanford
2. Arkansas 2. Wake Forest 2. Vanderbilt 2. Arizona
3. South Carolina 3. Florida 3. Florida State 3. Kent State
4. Northwestern 4. Arizona State 4. Auburn 4. UCLA
5. Washington 5. Oklahoma 5. Virginia 5. Michigan State
6. Miami 6. TCU 6. Furman 6. Campbell
7. Oregon 7. Pepperdine 7. Clemson 7. Illinois
8. San Jose State 8. Purdue 8. Houston 8. Baylor
9. Oregon State 9. Ole Miss 9. Kennesaw State 9. North Carolina
10. Old Dominion 10. Texas Tech 10. Alabama 10. Georgia
11. Iowa State 11. Mississippi State 11. Tennessee 11. Louisville
12. San Diego State 12. Virginia Tech 12. California 12. Augusta
13. Central Florida 13. NC State 13. Maryland 13. LSU
14. Ohio State 14. Texas A&M 14. East Carolina 14. Indiana
15. Sacramento State 15. UTSA 15. Denver 15. Long Beach State
16. New Mexico State 16. UNC Wilmington 16. South Alabama 16. Xavier
17. Boston 17. Sam Houston State 17. Albany 17. Harvard
18. Southern Illinois 18. Fairleigh Dickinson 18. Murray State 18. IUPUI