Text-Only Site



OGDEN, Utah — For the second consecutive season, each member of the Sacramento State women's golf team starting lineup earned all-Big Sky Conference honors. This year's group is comprised of Julia Becker and Corinne Viden on the first team, Sofie Babic and Nishtha Madan on the second team as well as Sydney Smith who earned honorable mention.

Becker averaged 73.41 in 22 rounds and had three top-three finishes in 2018-19. Should the senior maintain her scoring average, it would break the school single-season record of 73.97 which is was set by Astha Madan last season. Becker has 10 rounds of 72 or better this season with a low of 69 at The Gold Rush as well as the Juli Inkster Meadow Club Intercollegiate. This spring, she finished second at the Juli Inkster Meadow Club Intercollegiate, tied for third at The Gold Rush and tied for fourth at the Gunrock Intercollegiate. She also shined at the Lamkin Invitational where she recorded a pair of wins in match play, including a 4&3 win over Pepperdine's Hira Naveed who was sixth in the national rankings. Becker previously earned first team honors in 2017 and was named to the second team last year.

Viden ranks second on the team with a scoring average of 73.77. The sophomore's season was highlighted by winning the Gunrock Invitational where she shot 69-69-70-208 to set the school 54-hole record by three strokes. The following week, she added the Sacramento State single-round record to her resume after shooting 67 in the first round of the Juli Inkster Meadow Club Collegiate. In all, Viden had seven rounds of 72 or better during the season, including six during the spring. The native of Kallered, Sweden, earned second team honors last season and was the Big Sky Newcomer of the Year.

Babic was named all-Big Sky for the third straight year, following a first team honor in 2017-18 and third team in 2016-17. She averaged 74.77 while playing in every tournament during this season. She tied for second at the rain-shortened Rainbow Wahine Invitational in October and tied for 10th at the Gunrock Invitational. The junior shot 69 in a pair of tournaments for her low and had eight rounds of 72 or better during the year.

Madan also claimed her third all-conference award. She was named to the third team as a freshman in 2016-17 and earned first team accolades last year. In 2018-19, she averaged 75.00 with five rounds of 72 or better. She totaled 72-71-68-211 at The Princess Anne Invitational in October for her career best. That score tied the then-school 54-hole record only to be broken by Viden during the spring.

Despite being with the team for only one semester, Smith worked her way to honorable mention. The freshman played in five tournaments during the spring where she averaged 75.83. Her low round of 73 came in her first round as a Hornet at The Gold Rush.

The Big Sky all-conference teams and awards were selected following the conclusion of the regular season, using a points system based on the Golfstat National Ranking, the Golfweek National Ranking and the adjusted score to par provided by Golfstat.
The five lowest point totals were named to the first team, the next five lowest were named to the second team, the next five lowest were named to the third team and five more were named honorable mention. The player who posted the lowest score earned Player of the Year honors, while the freshman player who posted the lowest score earned the Freshman of the Year honors.

Sacramento State will next compete at the Big Sky Championships on April 19-21 at Boulder Creek Golf Club in Boulder City, Nev. The Hornets will get underway at 9:15 a.m. on Friday and will be paired with Idaho and Southern Utah. The Hornets, were preseason favorites, enter the tournament as the top seed and will be searching for their second conference title in the last three years. The winner of the Big Sky Championships earn an automatic berth to an NCAA regional.

2019 Big Sky All-Conference Team

Player of the Year: Sophie Hausmann, Idaho
Freshman of the Year: Chanikan (Pluem) Yongyuan, Southern Utah
First Team
Sophie Hausmann, Idaho*
Chanikan (Pluem) Yongyuan, Southern Utah
Julia Becker, Sacramento State&
Corinne Viden, Sacramento State
Valeria Patino, Idaho
Second Team
Sofie Babic, Sacramento State
Jasmine Cabajar, Portland State
Nishtha Madan, Sacramento State
Michelle Kim, Idaho
Beah Cruz, Northern Colorado
Third Team
Aleksandra Chekalina, Northern Arizona
Alexa Clark, Eastern Washington
Valerie Hernandez, Portland State
Kamonwan (Poy) Prasurtwong, Southern Utah
Ashley Croft, Northern Arizona
Honorable Mention
Sydney Smith, Sacramento State
Eliska Kocourkova, Northern Arizona
Madalyn Ardueser, Eastern Washington
Vicky Tsai, Idaho
Lexi Keene, Northern Arizona

* - Four-Time First Team All-Big Sky
$ - Three-Time First Team All-Big Sky
& - Two-Time First Team All-Big Sky