Text-Only Site



Meet Information

SACRAMENTO, Calif. --- Hornet Stadium will serve as host to some of the best athletes in the world as the NCAA Div. I Outdoor Track and Field West Preliminary comes to the venue on May 24-26. Action begins each day with throwing events at 12 p.m. Running events will start at 4:30 on Thursday and Friday and at 6 p.m. on Saturday.

A total of 120 teams, ranging from Hawaii to Illinois, will be competing in the NCAA West Preliminary with athletes looking for a chance to advance to the NCAA Outdoor Championships. Each individual event will have 48 entries with the top 12 moving on to the finals in Eugene, Ore.

Among the student-athletes entered in the meet are four women and seven men who are finalists for the Bowerman Award which goes to the top track and field collegiate athlete. The women's nominees include Kendall Ellis of USC who holds the NCAA indoor record in the 400 and currently ranks second outdoor in the event. Arizona State's Maggie Ewen enters this week as the national leader in the shot put, discus and hammer. Ewen has been the national champion in the indoor shot put. Lexi Jacobus of Arkansas owns the best mark in the nation in the women's pole vault and was also the indoor champion in the event. Missouri's Karissa Schweizer holds the NCAA record in the indoor 3K, has been the indoor champion in the 3K and 5K, and is national leader in the 10K.

The men's nominees from the West are USC's Rai Benjamin and Michael Norman, Gleb Dudarev of Kansas, Houston's Elijah Hall, Josh Kerr of New Mexico, South Dakota's Chris Nilsen and Michael Saruni of UTEP. Benjamin was the Pac-12 champion in the 400-hurdles and also ran the opening leg of the team's 4x100 relay. Norman is the national leader in the 200 and won conference titles in the 200 and 400. Other national leaders include Dudarev (hammer), Kerr (1500), Nilson (pole vault), ad Saruni (400).

Sacramento State will have nine student-athletes competing in a total of 11 events. Cory Barger and Jah Strange will be the first to compete in the men's long jump at 4:30 p.m. on Thursday. Carly Schulz (women's 400-hurdles) and Shilah Bedingfield (women's 400) will also participate in the first day. On Friday, Kyle Peterson will throw the discus at 12 p.m. Andre Lindsey will run the 110-hurdles at 4:30 p.m. and Bedingfield returns for the 200 at 7:55 p.m. Emilia Del Hoyo opens action for the Hornets on Saturday at 4:30 in the women's triple jump. The Hornets will have three entries in the men's triple jump at 7:30 p.m. with Darius Armstead, Mohamed Abdullah and Strange.

NCAA National Leaders
Men's 100 – Jaylen Bacon, Arkansas State, 9.99
Men's 200 – Michael Norman, USC, 19.84
Women's 400 – Kendall Ellis, USC, 49.99
Men's 400 – Michael Saruni, UTEP, 1:43.25
Women's 800 – Jasmine Fray, Texas A&M, 2:01.18
Men's 1500 – Josh Kerr, New Mexico, 3:35.01
Women's 5K – Ednah Kurgat, New Mexico, 15:20.06
Men's 10K – Tyler Day, Northern Arizona, 28:04.44
Women's 10K – Karissa Schweizer, Missouri, 32:00.55
Men's 400-Hurdles – Rai Benjamin, USC, 48.46
Men's Steeplechase – Yusuke Uchikoshi, Boise State, 8:38.32
Women's Steeplechase – Allie Ostrander, Boise State, 9:38.57
Men's 4x100 Relay – Arkansas, 38.59
Men's High Jump – Tejaswin Shankar, Kansas State, 7-06.00
Men's Pole Vault – Chris Nilsen, South Dakota, 19-02.75
Women's Pole Vault – Alexis Jacobus, Arkansas, 15-03.00
Men's Long Jump – Damarcus Simpson, Oregon, 27-04.00
Men's Triple Jump – Tahar Triki, Texas A&M, 55-05.75
Men's Shot Put – Payton Otterdahl, North Dakota State, 68-09.25
Women's Shot Put – Maggie Ewen, Arizona State, 63-10.25
Women's Discus – Maggie Ewen, Arizona State, 201-00
Men's Hammer – Gleb Dudarev, Kansas, 256-00
Women's Hammer – Maggie Ewen, Arizona State, 244-06
Women's Javelin – Mackenzie Little, Stanford, 192-04