SACRAMENTO, Calif. -- Sacramento State will travel to Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Fla., for this Saturday's American Athletic Conference Rowing Championship.

The Hornets and six other teams will compete for the conference title on Saturday beginning at 8 a.m. PDT. Sacramento State will be joined at the event by Central Florida, Tulsa, Temple, San Diego State, SMU and UConn.

With seven teams competing for the conference title and seven lanes of racing, there will be no preliminary time trials. Just grand finals for each of the six racing categories. In fact, the entire regatta will be finished in one hour as things kick off at 8 a.m. PDT for the third varsity four, followed by the second varsity four at 8:10 a.m., the third varsity eight at 8:20 a.m., the varsity four at 8:30 a.m., the second varsity eight at 8:40 a.m. and the varsity eight at 8:50 a.m. The awards ceremony will take place at approximately 9:45 a.m.

All seven schools will compete in the varsity eight, second varsity eight, varsity four and second varsity four races. Sacramento State will compete in every race category except for the third varsity eight.

Each school will battle for the league's NCAA automatic qualifier. At last year's event, which took place at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center, Central Florida won the American championship for the second straight year, followed by Tulsa, Temple, Sacramento State, San Diego State, UConn and SMU, respectively.

The seeding for all six race categories was released by the conference on Tuesday and the Hornets received a top five seed in each race it entered. That includes a No. 3 seed in the second varsity four, and a 4 seed in the varsity eight, second varsity eight and varsity four. In a random draw, the team's third varsity four was seeded fifth. Central Florida received the top seed in both the varsity eight and second varsity eight, the heaviest weighted races at the event.

Point structure for the races deem the varsity eight the most important race, followed by the second varsity eight and varsity four, respectively. The second and third varsity four, as well as the third varsity eight races carry a very small point value.

For instance, the winner of the varsity eight race receives 96 points, while the second place finisher earns 84 points, third place with 72, and a difference of 12 points less for every place thereafter. In the second varsity eight race, the winner receives 64 points, second place is 56 points, and a difference of eight points less for every place thereafter. The varsity four winner earns 32 points with a four point difference for every place after that. The second and third varsity four, as well as the third varsity eight race winners receive nine points.

The entire championship, including the awards ceremony, will be live streamed for free on The American Digital Network by clicking here. In addition, video highlights of each race as well as live race results can be found via The American's twitter handle by clicking here.

The Hornets joined the American for the first time two years ago after competing in 2014 in Conference USA. This year will mark just the fourth time that Sacramento State will race for an NCAA automatic qualifier. Prior to 2014, the Hornets had never competed in an NCAA-recognized conference since gaining intercollegiate status in 1995.

2017 American Athletic Conference Championship
Saturday, May 13 - Nathan Benderson Park - Sarasota, Fla.
8:00 a.m. -- 3rd Varsity Four – Final
8:10 a.m. -- 2nd Varsity Four – Final
8:20 a.m. -- 3rd Varsity Eight – Final
8:30 a.m. -- Varsity Four – Final
8:40 a.m. -- 2nd Varsity Eight – Final
8:50 p.m. -- Varsity Eight – Final
9:45 a.m. -- Awards Ceremony