Text-Only Site



SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Sacramento State's Owen Taylor was selected to compete at the NCAA Div. I Men's Golf Regional, it was announced today. Taylor will compete as an individual in Eugene, Ore. The tournament will take place at the Eugene Country Club on May 15-17.

Taylor is the midst of the greatest single season in Sacramento State history. The junior is currently averaging 71.94 strokes in his 36 rounds this season. That mark easily places him ahead of the current record of 72.69 which was set by Ryan Williams last season. This year, Taylor was the medalist at the UCSB Invitational and also lost in a playoff at the Lone Star Invitational. The San Juan Capistrano, Calif., native also tied for second at the Folino Invitational and tied for third at the Itani Quality Homes Collegiate. Overall, he placed among the top 15 in 11 of his 12 events and had six finishes in the top six.

This is the third consecutive season that the Hornets have been represented in the NCAA Regionals. In 2012, Sacramento State qualified as a team for the Norman, Okla, regional after winning the America Sky Championships. Last year, Williams and Jordan Weir each advanced as individuals to the Pullman, Wash., regional.

The top five teams from each of the six NCAA Regionals will advance to the NCAA Championships in Hutchinson, Kan. The low individual at each regional outside of the advancing teams will also qualify for the championships.

Eugene Country Club – Eugene, Oregon
Hosted by Oregon

1. Stanford [Pac-12 Conference]
2. Houston
3. Oklahoma
4. South Carolina
5. Baylor
6. Liberty [Big South Conference]
7. Oregon
8. Tennessee
9. North Florida
10. East Tennessee State
11. Chattanooga
12. Wichita State [Missouri Valley Conference]
13. Northern Colorado [America Sky Conference]
[Indicates conference champion]

1. Cody Blick, San Jose State
2. Kyle Westmoreland, Air Force
3. David Fink, Oregon State
4. Owen Taylor, Sacramento State
5. Byron Meth, Pacific
6. Tyler Torano, Loyola Marymount
7. Cory McElyea, San Francisco
8. Pete Fernandez, UC Irvine
9. Alex Franklin, Oregon State
10. Frederick Wedel, Pepperdine