Wrapper Background
Text-Only Site




SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Sacramento State quarterback Garrett Safron was named to the College Football Performance Awards watch list for 2014. The incoming senior is one of 36 quarterbacks from the Football Championship Subdivision on the list.

Last season, Safron earned second team all-Big Sky Conference honors and was named the team MVP after setting school single season records with 294 completions, 460 attempts, 3,289 yards and 27 passing touchdowns. He also rushed for 492 yards and seven touchdowns and finished the year with a school record of 3,781 all-purpose yards.

The Santa Monica, Calif., native had some monster individual performances in 2013 including a seven passing touchdown effort against Southern Oregon and throwing for 554 yards at Portland State. He was selected as the Big Sky ROOT Sports Offensive Player of the Week three times and was the FCS National Player of the Week once.

Safron has started every game under center over the last two seasons for Sacramento State and enters 2014 ranked second in the Hornet record book with 6,223 career yards, 900 attempts and 564 completions. Safron's 52 career touchdown passes are already the most in school history and his .627 completion percentage is also the best.

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.
Last season, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston earned the CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy for the FBS, while Eastern Washington quarterback Vernon Adams earned the CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy.
CFPA Trophy winner and former South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney was the first overall selection in the 2014 NFL Draft.
The full list of 2014 CFPA winners will be announced January 14, 2015.

Jacob Huesman, Chattanooga
Alex Ross, Coastal Carolina
Dalyn Williams, Dartmouth
Trent Hurley, Delaware
Jared McClain, Eastern Kentucky
Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington
Mike Quinn, Elon
Michael Nebrich, Fordham
Conner Hempel, Harvard
Peter Pujals, Holy Cross
Greg McGhee, Howard
Justin Arias, Idaho State
Blake Winkler, Illinois State
Trent Brittain, Incarnate Word
Eli Jenkins, Jacksonville State
Drew Reed, Lafayette
Caleb Berry, Lamar
Josh Woodrum, Liberty
John Russ, Mercer
Jordan Johnson, Montana
Tuskani Figaro, Nicholls State
Sawyer Kollmoger, Northern Iowa
Zach Adkins, Northwestern State
Kieran McDonagh, Portland State
Jerry Lovelocke, Prairie View A&M
Quinn Epperly, Princeton
Michael Strauss, Richmond
Garrett Safron, Sacramento State
RJ Noel, Sacred Heart
Austin Sumner, South Dakota State
Bryan Bennett, Southeastern Louisiana
Ronald Butler, Tennessee State
Benjamin Anderson, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Sean Goldrich, New Hampshire
Dylan Favre, UT-Martin
John Robertson, Villanova

View: Mobile | Desktop