Wrapper Background
Text-Only Site


OGDEN, Utah - For the first time since joining the Big Sky Conference in 1996-97, Sacramento State has won the league’s all-sports overall athletic points championship, it was announced today.

The competition is designed to award schools for overall athletic excellence. Schools are awarded points based on team finish in regular season Big Sky standings for soccer, volleyball, football, men’s and women’s basketball and tennis. Points are also awarded in men’s and women’s cross country, indoor track & field, outdoor track & field and women’s golf by virtue of finish at the Big Sky championship. Teams are ranked according to average points per sport.

On the men’s side, Sacramento State finished third with an average of 10.8 points per sport, trailing Northern Arizona (11.33) and Montana State (11.12). The third-place finish on the men’s side was the highest in school history for Sacramento State as the Hornet men accounted for Big Sky championships in tennis, indoor track, and outdoor track.

On the women’s side, Sacramento State’s run of three consecutive women’s all-sports championships came to a close as the Hornet women finished third with an average of 9.50 points per sport. That mark trailed Montana (10.38) and Portland State (10.38). Still, the women have finished no lower than third in the all-sports race four straight years, and Sacramento State women’s squads accounted for Big Sky titles in soccer, tennis, indoor track and outdoor track this season.

Sacramento State was the only program to finish among the top three teams in both the Big Sky men’s and women’s all-sports races, and based on that result, was able to claim the overall athletics points title.

The Big Sky overall athletic points championship adds to an academic year that has seen Sacramento State claim eight conference championships (including an MPSF title in men’s soccer). That breaks down to the Hornets winning a conference crown in 40 percent of the program’s 20 intercollegiate sports.

The eight conference championships also ties for the most in the program’s Div. I history (1991-pres.). In fact, over the last five years, Sacramento State has combined for 34 conference titles. That includes eight in both the 2006-07 and 2007-08 academic years.

1. Sacramento State - 10.07
2. Montana - 9.78
3. Northern Arizona - 9.29
4. Montana State - 8.85
5. Northern Colorado - 7.43
6. Weber State - 6.93
7. Portland State - 6.86
8. Eastern Washington - 6.75
9. Idaho State - 5.25

1. Northern Arizona - 11.33
2. Montana State - 11.12
3. Sacramento State - 10.8
4. Weber State - 9.42
5. Eastern Washington - 9.08
6. Montana - 9.00
7. Northern Colorado - 6.17
8. Idaho State - 3.3
9. Portland State - 2.17

1. Montana - 10.38
2. Portland State - 10.38
3. Sacramento State - 9.5
4. Northern Colorado - 8.38
5. Northern Arizona - 7.75
6. Montana State - 6.86
7. Idaho State - 6.69
8. Weber State - 5.06
9. Eastern Washington - 5.0

View: Mobile | Desktop